Committee Structure and Membership

Administrative and Academic Committees:

  • Academic Integrity Committee
    • The AIC includes faculty and student representatives who serve on integrity hearing panels when needed. The Associate Dean of Academic and International Affairs manages academic integrity cases.
  • Eastman Faculty Council
    • The Eastman Faculty Council is a 5-member faculty group that considers a wide range of issues and meets with faculty or the dean to address concerns. Members are nominated and elected from among the full-time tenure-track faculty, with one position delegated for a pre-tenure person; the council self-selects a chair.
  • Eastman Leadership Council
    • The Council, comprising the Senior Leadership Team (see below) and the 13 department chairs, meets to review policies as well as to discuss and make recommendations on topics with a school-wide impact.
  • Enrollment Management Committee
    • The EMC meets bi-weekly to review policies and practices related to the admissions and retention of students. The Associate Dean of Admissions and Enrollment Management chairs the meetings.
  • Safety and Security Committee
    • The Senior Associate Dean for Administration and Finance chairs this committee with representatives from University Public Safety and various Eastman offices along with students and one faculty member. Regular meetings often include officers from the Rochester Police Department.
  • Senior Leadership Team
    • The SLT meets weekly with the Dean to discuss matters of importance to the School. The group comprises leaders from the offices of advancement, communications, academic affairs, graduate studies, admissions, administration/finance, and the Institute for Music Leadership.
  • Student Support Team (Student Affairs, Academic Affairs, Residential Life)
    • The SST group of Deans meets weekly with the Senior Associate Dean of Academic and Student Affairs to address issues of concern to undergraduate students; the Graduate Advisor joins the meeting monthly to review graduate student issues.

Curricular Committees:

  • Graduate Professional Committee
  • Graduate Research Committee
  • Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Curricular changes may be initiated by the faculty or administration.  After consultation with relevant students, faculty and administration, the person or department wishing to propose a curricular change, policy change, new course, or new program should submit a written proposal to the UCC, GRC, or GPC. Specific instructions and guidelines on offering a new course are available on the Academic Affairs Office website. The UCC (Undergraduate Curriculum Committee) approves changes in the BM curriculum. The GPC (Graduate Professional Committee) approves changes to the MM and DMA curricula.  The GRC (Graduate Research Committee) approves changes to the MA and PhD curricula.  All three committees have a broad membership from across the entire school.  Proposals approved by any of these committees must be ratified by a vote of the full faculty (only) if the change will broadly affect all students in the curriculum governed by that committee.

Awards/Funding/Recognition Committees:

  • All-Eastman Events Committee
    • The AEEC awards funds for faculty-initiated programming that will benefit a broad set of Eastman students. Events must be co-sponsored by at least two other funding sources.
  • Eastman Departmental Diversity Initiative
    • EDDI projects provide funding for on-campus presenters in support of diversity and inclusion activities.
  • Eisenhart Teaching Award
    • The Eisenhart Teaching Award is given to a faculty member annually at the May commencement ceremony. Nominations are solicited in the spring semester, and a committee of former recipients meets to select the new awardee.
  • Lecture-Recital Prize
    • The Graduate Studies Office manages the annual Lecture-Recital Prize, given for outstanding presentations of the lecture-recital by students in the Doctor of Musical Arts degree program.
  • Pi Kappa Lambda
    • Academic deans nominate outstanding undergraduate and graduate students for recognition through membership in this music honorary society. Nominees are voted on by members of the Eastman PKL chapter, which inducts new members in May of each year.
  • Professional Development Committee
    • The PDC meets three times a year to review proposals for funding in the categories of faculty, individual student, and chamber group. Guidelines for submissions are posted on the Academic Affairs Office website.
  • Teaching Assistant Prize
    • The annual TA Prize is given each spring, following a rigorous process of review by students, nominations by departments, and observations by a faculty committee. Up to six individuals may be recognized each year. The overall process is managed through the Academic Affairs Office.

Review Committees for Individual Programs:

Recent Initiatives:

Revised, July 2016


← Handbook Table of Contents